Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

IMG_2330

Flawed is Cecelia Ahern’s YA debut and she does not disappoint! Thank you, CA, for this captivating and thought-provoking premise and thank you to OwlCrate for including it in your April box 🙂 Not only did I enjoy reading this book (I could barely put it down – I say “barely” because I have to work and eat and sleep), but it also lead to some stimulating conversations with my husband about how each of us would fair in this particular society. I’ve determined that I would either suck at living in this society or I would excel at it and hate myself. Tough times. But also, this was an important examination into the strength (whether positive or negative) of societal influences on behaviors and beliefs. Read on to find out more!

Genre

YA Fiction!

Intended Audience

I don’t think you have to be a stalwart YA fan to like this book. The storyline is intriguing and touches upon concepts that would pull in readers of any age group. Fair warning – emotions run high in this story! (Or maybe I’m just overly emotional when it comes to absolutely everything fictional characters and places…)

Overview

17-year-old Celestine North is the perfect daughter, the perfect student, the perfect girlfriend – the perfect citizen. She lives in a society that does not tolerate anything less than perfection. Anything less would be considered Flawed and those labeled Flawed are branded as such (literally). Celestine has always prided herself on being logical, everything is black and white; until her seemingly logical choices lead her to question everything and everyone she has ever believed in. What can she do, who can she trust, and what will become of her?

Setting

CA posits an interesting societal construct – any type of mistake, however small, can ruin your life. And there are no second chances. The world is looking at this particular country to determine whether or not they themselves should adopt the same system. As you can imagine, there’s a lot on the line.

Characters

Although told from a single character’s perspective, this story is written in a way that allows the reader to slowly learn more about each character and their motivations – which, for some of them, are constantly evolving as they learn more about themselves and what they hold dear. These characters, Celestine in particular, are pretty endearing and I’m looking forward to learning more about them.

What I Liked

There were quite a few things to like love about this book.

I loved the plot! The entire Perfect/Flawed system was created with the best of intentions; and you know what they say about best intentions. It called a lot of things into question and oftentimes had me writhing at the injustice of it all. I cried so many angry tears! (But I still loved it! Maybe I’m weird…) Did I mention I read while taking public transportation? The bus, to be exact. Yeah. Preeettty awkward. After all, there are only so many times I can “yawn” or sniffle due to “allergies” 😛

I liked the characters, but I mentioned that already. The pacing was spot on – it never felt too slow or too fast. And there was (some) romance 😀 Color me happy!

CA also has the great ability of conveying relationships between characters with minimal dialogue. This is a skill.

What I Liked a Little Less

I’ve thought long and hard about this… and I really can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this book. Sorry, not sorry! I mean, besides the fact that this is Book 1 in a brand new series and now I’ll have to wait who knows how long for the next one 😛

Score

Overall, I’d give Flawed 5/5 stars! Well done, CA – can’t wait for Book 2!

If you’ve already read it, or don’t care about spoilers, head on over to my Spoilery Reviews section (or just click here). I’d love to hear from you! Let me know what you think 🙂

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

