My Lady Jane (Spoiler-Free)

fullsizerender14

I received My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows in my June OwlCrate box and I loved it! It was fun, hilarious, and inventive. See my spoiler-free thoughts below to find out why this book is one of my fave reads of 2016.
 *
Genre
Historical Fiction with a small ENORMOUS magical twist. I already love kings and queens, so if you add magic to the mix, my self-restraint is nil.
 *
Intended Audience
The target audience might be YA, but this is yet another example of a book that can be enjoyed no matter the age of the reader.
 *
Overview
Lady Jane Grey is recently betrothed (to a complete stranger no less) and next in line to become the Queen of England. As if that’s not enough to worry about, she not only finds herself smack dab in the middle of a nefarious plot for the crown but also a power struggle between those with shape-shifting abilities and those without. Can Lady Jane and company capture and stop the bad guys before they themselves are caught?
 *
Setting
16th century England.
 *
Characters
These characters were so incredibly lovable! They were the right amount of frustrating and quarrelsome, giving them great chemistry.
 *
This is also another example of a fictional work that made me want to learn more about the real historical figures that the characters are modeled after. (Don’t worry, I’m fully capable of separating fact from fiction.)
 *
What I Liked
Writing style! I loved, loved, LOVED the way this book was written! Every now and then, the authors would playfully interrupt the storytelling to add in a few quirky quips and tidbits of info. If you’re a fan of the Princess Bride (full disclosure: I have yet to read the Princess Bride, but I saw the movie and loved it) and the way it’s told, you really need to read this.
 *
Characters! The characters were unique and their personalities jumped right off the pages. I can’t tell you how many times I laughed out loud at their antics. They also went incredibly well together (even when they weren’t working particularly well together) and the relationships depicted were delightful and charming. Which brings me to my next point.
 *
Romance! The aforementioned chemistry was spot on. The give-and-take between the characters was excellent.
 *
The pacing was also well-done. It started off a bit slow, but it picked up pretty quickly and maintained a steady pace throughout the remainder of the book.
 *
What I Liked A Little Less
Nothing. Nope, there wasn’t anything I did not like about this book. Sorry, not sorry.
 *
Score
My Lady Jane gets a solid 5/5 star rating. It was wonderfully entertaining and I came away from this read feeling quite happy. If you’re looking for a fun book to read, MLJ definitely gets my vote.

 

 

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

