Lola and the Boy Next Door (Spoiler-Free)

img_0283

After my binge-read of Anna and the French Kiss, I just had to dive right into Stephanie Perkins’ second book, Lola and the Boy Next Door. Before I began reading this series, I had no idea how all the books were connected to one another. Honestly, I thought they were just individual love stories, maybe set in the same universe/world/setting. What I got was so much better and once I started reading Book 2, it didn’t take long at all for me to realize that it was a continuation of Book 1, but with a completely mostly distinct love story. The set-up was perfect! And it should come as no surprise that I got through this book just as quickly as the first. Keep reading for my spoiler-free review of Lola and the Boy Next Door! 

Genre
YA contemporary romance

Intended Audience
YA or anyone who enjoys YA romance or romance in general

Overview (from Barnes & Noble)
Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – more sparkly, more fun, more wild – the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket – a gifted inventor – steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Setting
San Francisco! I went to college just outside the Bay Area, so I’m a bit familiar with the city. (Which basically just means I’ve been there more than a few times. A handful, if you will. …Okay, maybe like a handful and a half). However, reading about it here made me all the more excited to experience it more.

Characters
As with Anna, Lola and the Boy Next Door was told from the perspective of the main female protagonist. And let me just say, WOW. Lola seemed to be the personification of San Francisco. She had such a firecracker personality and I loved how expressive she was!

I also loved the openness and honesty of a certain character. It was refreshing. And oh how I loved Lola’s parents!

What I Liked
Much of what I liked about Anna was maintained in Lola. Writing style? Check. Pacing? Check. The Feels?? Check! Nostalgia??? Check!! But don’t get me wrong; like Lola herself, this book was unique.

I loved the way Perkins introduced Lola’s story. My interest was piqued right off the bat. No slow starts here!

It’s also nice to read something where I don’t have to fear for the lives of my favorite characters 😀 Stephanie Perkins, my blood pressure thanks you.

So far we’ve been able to see different perspectives of a relationship and/or romantic entanglement. In Anna and the French Kiss, the drama unfolded with Anna on the outside of a relationship. This time, we get to see a different side to things from Lola’s perspective within a relationship.

Life lessons? Identity and patience – taking the time to sort yourself out and figuring out what you need and when.

And let’s not forget the cameos! I won’t tell you who… but I think you know them 😀 I swear, I got giddy every time they popped up in the story.

What I Liked A Little Less
Nada!

Score
I gave Lola and the Boy Next Door 5/5 stars. It was just as good as Anna and the French Kiss and at this point, I have no idea if I like one more than the other.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

