If I Had A Gryphon – Book Review and Recommendation

file-nov-18-10-43-16-pm

If I Had A Gryphon

Written by Vikki VanSickle and Illustrated by Cale Atkinson

Tundra Books / Hardcover / 32 Pages / Recommended for children ages 3-7

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada and Tundra Books for sending me a copy of If I Had A Gryphon, written by Vikki VanSickle and illustrated by Cale Atkinson! IIHAG is about a little girl named Sam, who just got a pet hamster. A hamster’s cool and all, but after reading about mythological creatures, Sam tries to imagine what it would be like to have one of them instead. What she discovers surprises even her – maybe a nice, simple pet is the best bet…but of course, not everything is as it seems 🙂 

What I Liked

IIHAG was a wonderful story. The plot was creative and delivered a diverse cast of characters, both human and creatures alike. I admit that I learned of at least one new mythological creature that I had never heard of before reading this book.

The writing and rhythm matched the vibe of the story perfectly and, along with the illustrations, brought these creatures to life. Speaking of the illustrations – I absolutely loved them! They were some of the best I’ve seen; colorful and expressive.

This story also re-emphasized that the imagination is a wonderful and brilliant thing – nothing should be taken for granted and even something seemingly mundane can be exciting. Thank you to VanSickle and Atkinson for such a lovely story!

Overall Score

If I Had A Gryphon gets 5/5 stars! I highly recommend this book; it’s the perfect introduction to mythological creatures for youngsters, especially those who may not yet be ready for the magical world of Harry Potter.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Children's Book and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

