Come This Way (Spoiler-Free)

file-dec-22-5-23-34-pmI received Come This Way by Michelle Schlicher for review and I LOVED it. It wasn’t my typical read (i.e. there were no mythical creatures or magical happenings of any sort and romance wasn’t a major focal point of the story), but that just goes to show that: 1) I haven’t lost my ability to branch out and 2) change can be a good thing (occasionally and in small doses – baby steps, right?). Read on for my spoiler-free review of Come This Way. πŸ™‚ Β 

Genre

Contemporary Fiction

Intended Audience

Everyone and anyone who is interested in contemporary fiction and a canvas of diverse and complex relationships

Overview (from book)


A hiking and outdoor enthusiast, fifty-year-old Fern Conrad can’t imagine spending her time doing anything else, much to the dismay of her daughter, Colby.

Kara Dawson, a twenty-five-year-old student therapist, has shut life out to focus on her sister’s illness. That is, until a chance meeting pushes her to confront the possibilities – by letting go and moving forward.

Eighty-three-year-old Nettie Campbell heals in the hospital while facing the consequences of her actions. Can she repair relationships and forge new bonds as she comes to terms with the truth?

Come This Way is an emotional, honest look into the lives of women who are discovering their own strength. It is a story about difficult choices and the people around us who help us find our way.

Setting

The setting was varied, given the set-up of the story (stories).

Characters

The book synopsis meant business when describing this as emotional and honest. These characters were both frustrating and inspiring. Essentially, they were relatable in some way, shape, or form; an important aspect in a successful contemporary novel (in my opinion).

What I Liked


This novel took me through a full spectrum of emotions. If you haven’t already caught on from previous blog and Instagram posts – I’m a crier. Happy tears, sad tears, angry tears – I’m your girl. I have to keep a box of Kleenex readily available during the holiday season, because of all those darned heartwarming Christmas commercials. Why am I telling you all this, you wonder? I have a point, I promise. My point is: if YOU are also a crier, reading this in public probably isn’t the best idea πŸ˜› I get most of my reading done on my commute to and from work (thank you, public transit) and let me tell you, pretending my tears are from “yawning” only works the first few times. Just a fair warning.

Moving on. I loved that the story depicted varying stages in and of life (turning points, if you will), told from varying perspectives. The stories also alternated with each chapter, which maintained the intrigue and helped to uphold a steady pace. It never got boring and I was constantly wondering how the characters would react to each other and their situations. Speaking of their situations, as I mentioned above, these characters and the issues they faced were relatable and realistic. The drama wasn’t overdone and I was left feeling that I gained valuable insight and takeaways as to the human condition.

I also loved loved LOVED how everything came together. Schlicher gave the stories a sense of synchronicity, so much so that their high and low points seemed to coincide.

What I Liked A Little Less


The only thing that tripped me up a little was the timing. There was a minor time jump towards the end of the book that confused me slightly; but not enough for this to be a big (or even small) deal-breaker.

Score

Come This Way gets 4.5/5 stars πŸ™‚ Thank you, Michelle, for sending me this lovely novel! I really think my mom would enjoy this, so I’ll be ordering her a copy as well πŸ™‚

P.S. I also think this would make an excellent movie – I’m looking at you, Hallmark.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come This Way (Spoiler-Free)

  1. Shirley Vonnahme says:

    Loved this book. The characters were so real. I could not wait to see how they were connected. I think this book would make a great movie. Can’t wait for her next book. She keeps getting better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

