The Gargoyle Gets His Girl (Spoiler-Free)

file-mar-01-8-45-44-pmHere’s my spoiler-free review for Book 3 of Kristen Painter’s Nocturne Falls series, The Gargoyle Gets His Girl! Again, some of the sections below are the same as those in my previous reviews of Painter’s NF series (Genre, Intended Audience, and Setting), with minor adjustments here and there. And this review does not have any spoilers from Books 1 or 2, so you’re safe!

Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts on TGGHG!


Genre
Fantasy, Supernatural, Romance 🎡🎢 these are a few of my favorite things 🎢🎡

Intended Audience
I wouldn’t describe this as a YA novel, since the main characters are in their mid- to late-twenties (or early 30s?), but I wouldn’t go as far as to say it should be restricted to adults-only either… so perhaps mature YA to infinity and beyond?

Instalove disclaimer! This book has high-levels of instalove. #SorryNotSorry

Overview (from the back of the book, minus three sentences I left out to maintain suspense)
The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Willa Iscove, fae jeweler, has her first stalker. Really, he’s just one of her lovesick customers. The ring she crafted to help him find new love has backfired, making Willa the object of his affections. In a bid to rid herself of her amorous client, Willa makes a wish in the Nocturne Falls fountain using the piece of opal in her pocket and in doing so, unknowingly conscripts as her guardian the sexy gargoyle on duty.

Former Army Ranger and gargoyle Nick Hardwin has some serious suspicions about the pretty fae who just invoked the ancient pact for protection. Her kind have been at odds with his kind for ages. Now she wants his help? He’s determined to figure out what she’s up to. Which won’t be a hardship considering how much fun she is to be around. And kiss.

But then her stalker turns out to be the tip of the iceberg and things go really wrong, really fast.

Setting
Nocturne Falls!!! πŸ˜πŸ™Œ Like it says above, a town that celebrates Halloween every day (EVERY DAY!!!) to safely accommodate its supernatural citizens, allowing them to be themselves out in the open. Yes, please!

I swear, every time I write a review for this series my ache for a town like Nocturne Falls increases. Tenfold. In case the all caps and exclamation points weren’t indication enough.

Characters
I loved the character development in this book – Willa’s especially. She seems to be on the quieter side (at least when compared to some of the previous leading ladies), but she’s just as charming and powerful. And adorably quirky. I also really enjoyed the chemistry between her and Nick. More on that below.

What I Liked
I LOVED the subtle and not-so-subtle hints at past characters and events from previous books! If you didn’t get a chance to read my first two reviews, I’ll reiterate: The main characters in this book were actually minor characters who were introduced in the first and second books. And! Some of the main characters from the first and second book are now minor characters in the third book. And so on and so forth throughout the entire series πŸ˜†πŸ™Œ Which is why you should read the series in the appropriate order πŸ‘

Again, I also loved how each story is resolved in a single book. So readers can avoid that nerve-racking, anxiety-inducing wait for answers altogether. Whew! Cliffhangers? No, thank you! No, sir. Not here.

The flirty banter in TGGHG is by far my favorite 😍 the characters are just so sexy and funny. And FUN! Seriously – I am FULLY aware that I’ve mentioned how much fun these books are in. Every. Single. Review. But it needs to be said. Over and over again.

Lastly, cats. Yes, cats. At this point in the series, I began to see a trend. A trend that cat lovers throughout the ‘verse will appreciate πŸ˜„

What I Liked a Little Less
I wasn’t overly fond of the way this story was resolved. Or, to be more specific without being spoilery, I guess it was the resolution that followed the resolution…have I confused you? It’s okay – I guess you’ll just have to read the book to find out what I’m talking writing about πŸ˜‰

Score
The Gargoyle Gets His Girl and 4/5 stars! 😜 …You see what I did there? πŸ€“ …Okay, I’ll stop.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

