The Shifter Romances The Writer (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_0855Last, but not least! Here’s my review for Book 6 in Kristen Painter’s Nocturne Falls series, The Shifter Romances The Writer! Silver lining – this is the last time you’ll need to read this disclaimer: some of the sections below are the same as those in my previous reviews of the NF series (Genre, Intended Audience, and Setting), with some minor edits. Although it’s the last book in the series, you can safely read this review without coming across spoilers from previous books. Spoiler-free indeed!

Read on for my review of TSRTW!
Genre
Fantasy, Supernatural, Romance 🎡🎢 these are a few of my favorite things 🎢🎡

Intended Audience
This doesn’t count as a YA novel, since the main characters are in their late 20s, early 30s, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say it should be restricted to adults-only either… so perhaps mature YA to infinity and beyond?

Instalove warning! This book (and the entire NF series) is chock full of instalove.

Overview (From back of book)
The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

For romance writer Roxy St. James, living in Nocturne Falls also means a fresh start. And as soon as her unbearable ex signs the divorce papers, that new beginning will be a reality. Unfortunately, her ex doesn’t seem ready to let her go and the subtle threats he’s been making leave her no choice but to confide in her oh-so-handsome neighbor, who just happens to be a deputy with the sheriff’s department.

But Officer Alex Cruz isn’t just the law. He’s also a panther shifter, a secret he’s sworn to keep (along with the truth about Nocturne Falls) from the very foxy Roxy. Humans aren’t supposed to know the town is filled with supernaturals. Then she starts seeing things she shouldn’t and thinks she’s losing her mind. His attraction – and concern – for her wars with the promise he’s made.

Will his truth be more than she can handle? Or will it cause her to write him out of her life?

Setting
Nocturne Falls!!! πŸ˜πŸ™Œ Like it says above, a town that celebrates Halloween every day to safely accommodate its supernatural citizens, allowing them to be themselves out in the open. Yes, please!

Characters
As with all her books, Painter depicted her characters in a way that allowed audiences to see their perspectives and development throughout the story. I especially enjoyed Roxy’s character, since she was an author ☺️ I also loved Alex’s character – more on that below!

What I Liked
Diversity!!! πŸ˜†πŸ™ŒπŸ˜ I love it when authors include diverse characters (like Alex Cruz!). I like having characters that I can relate to on a racial and ethnic level and I feel that most of the books that I’ve read so far in my life have had main characters and protagonists who are Caucasian. Which is fine, but not necessarily the most relatable; which is why I’m over the moon whenever I read and love a series that has a diverse cast. So thank you, Painter, for Alex Cruz!

I also really liked the twists and turns. There were at least two main surprises that I didn’t see coming.

And, true to style, TSRTW had fun, flirtation, and sexiness in spades.

What I Liked A Little Less
I actually don’t think there was anything about this particular book that I didn’t like πŸ˜… woohoo!

Score
The Shifter Romances The Writer gets 5/5 stars! And I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more of Kristen Painter’s work πŸ’•

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

