Wires and Nerve (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_0859Written by Marissa Meyer and Illustrated by Doug Holgate

I was SUPER excited when I heard that Marissa Meyer would be creating a Lunar Chronicles graphic novel – like, over the moon excited! Ha!…..see what I did there? πŸ˜… Lunar? Moon? Okay, sorry. Anyway! Wires and Nerve follows Iko, everyone’s favorite android, and takes place after the conclusion of Winter, but before the epilogue in Stars Above. **high-pitched fangirl squealing commences** And let me tell you, this graphic novel did NOT disappoint!

Read on for my spoiler-free review! Note: this is spoiler-free for Wires and Nerve, but has some minor spoilers (mainly in the overview) for Books 1-4 in the Lunar Chronicles series.Β 

Genre
YA, Fiction, Sci-Fi

Intended Audience
Fans of the Lunar Chronicles series – regardless of age. And if you’re not a fan already, what are you waiting for??? Start reading! (First book is Cinder). You won’t be sorry.

Overview (from book jacket)
In her first graphic novel, Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity.

Setting
Earth and Luna πŸ’• and our favorite ship – the Rampion! (…Okay, maybe it’s tied with Serenity? Ugh, don’t make me choose!)

Characters
Meyer spoiled us with all the cameos! But hey, spoil away πŸ˜… Given that the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series was told through alternating perspectives, I thought it fitting that Iko was the main protagonist here. I loved learning more about her πŸ’•

What I Liked
SO MANY THINGS!!! I loved seeing the crew again! These are some of my favorite characters in all of space and time, so I devour any chance to read more about them. And! We were also introduced to characters who were alluded to in the first four books – so that was awesome!

I also loved the story/plot – it had the action and humor that we’ve grown accustomed to from TLC, and also a teeeeensy bit of romance. But above all else, I loved that Meyer’s story was turned into a visual experience.

What I Liked A Little Less
That Wires and Nerve is only PART 1 and I COMPLETELY forgot that single simple fact until I reached the END and was slapped in the face with cliffhangers! 😫 No, but really. This was obviously 200% my fault lol. Meyer had told us during the Wires and Nerve Launch Party that Part 2 would be coming in 2018 and we all moaned and groaned good-naturedly (I personally was a jumbled mix of emotions – excited that we’d get more, but bummed we’d have to wait a year). And then I started reading. And promptly forgot πŸ˜ͺ

Anyway, since the above doesn’t really count, there’s actually only one small thing that I liked a little less than loved. I’m not complaining about the illustrations – because I can barely draw myself and there’s really nothing to complain about (they’re great illustrations) – but I was expecting a different style of graphic novel than what it turned out to be. I’m also more used to manga than graphic novels (so I’m sure that played a role), but I also think I was expecting something more akinΒ to the illustrative style of the Vampire Academy graphic novels. But whatever, I just had to adjust πŸ™ƒ Like I said, they were great, just not what I expected.

Score
Wires and Nerve gets 5/5 βœ¨πŸ™Œ I can’t wait for Part 2! **high-pitched fangirl squealing ends**

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

