Starfall (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_0949

I was introduced to Melissa Landers’ Starflight last year via Bookstagram and absolutely ADORED it. It was one of my top fave reads of 2016! So, of course, when Starfall (the second book of the Starflight duology) came out, I couldn’t wait to dive in!

Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts of Landers’ Starfall! Note: you should read Starflight before reading Starfall, but rest assured that this review doesn’t have any spoilers for either book… Except the overview/synopses – that might have miiiiinor spoilers, because the side characters in Starflight are now the main characters in Starfall and the main characters in Starflight are now the minor characters in Starfall. …You still with me? If you’d like to start out by reading my spoiler-free review for Starflight, you can find it here.Β 

Genre
Young Adult, Sci-Fi

Intended Audience
If you loved Starflight, definitely give this a read – if only to see the gang again. I also think fans of Firefly and Serenity would enjoy this book and I do believe the age range is expansive, so older readers might enjoy it too (despite it being a young adult book with young adult main characters).

Overview (From Book Jacket – minus one or two sentences paragraphs to maintain suspense)
When Princess Cassia Rose Fled her home world of Eturia to escape an arranged marriage, she had no idea her sudden departure would spark a war. Now after two years hiding as a ship hand, she is finally returning to her beloved home… but not in the way she imagined.

When the outer realm is threatened by dangerous Zhang mafia, Cassia, Kane, and the rest of the Banshee crew uncover a horrifying conspiracy that endangers the entire universe. In the face of unspeakable evil, Cassia must confront her own family’s complicated legacy on Eturia and decide once and for all who her real family is.

Setting
The ‘verse! Starfall takes place onboard the Banshee – a ship with lots of..um..character 😜 (no, really though, it’s awesome – think Serenity πŸ™Œ) – and on various planets. There are actually quite a few unique settings and locales in this book, which I found super interesting. It made me long for space travel. Are we there yet? No?

Characters
Starfall follows the Banshee crew and is written from the perspectives of Cassia and Kane, both of whom pack a wallop in the personality department. They’re both strong-willed and play off of each other nicely in a way that showcases their development throughout the story.

What I Liked
Starfall moved at a pretty fast clip and was well-written and descriptive. I also loved seeing all the characters again – I’d totally sign up to be a Banshee shipmate. …crewmate? …crew…member?

What I Liked A Little Less
Ughghgh 😩 This tears me up, BUT… I think there were more things that I didn’t like than things that I did. As I said above, the story moved along pretty quickly, but there were lots of things happening and it felt overwhelming at times. There was almost too much going on for one book.

Also, for whatever reason, I wasn’t as invested in Cassia and Kane as I was in Doran and Solara from Starflight. Additionally, Doran and Solara as they were portrayed in this book didn’t quite do it for me (I know, I know, they weren’t the main characters anyway; but I didn’t think they had the same individual spark and spunk as they did in the first book).

Score
I’m giving Starfall 3.5/5 stars. ..I wanted to love it, but in the end, my feelings toward it can only be described as lukewarm.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

