In a Dark, Dark Wood (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_1169Another spoiler-free review coming your way!

What do you do when you’re facing a three-hour flight and you’ve just finished a book? Start another one! πŸ˜† I bought In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware for said three-hour flight; it was very much an airport impulse buy, but I’m not complaining – especially because my husband and I read this together! The first and only (so far!). It was a fantastic reading experience! Every now and then we’d take short breaks to discuss and trade theories on characters and events 😍

Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts! (On the book, not the reading experience πŸ˜…) ((Also, these are my opinions – not my husband’s. He can write his own review if he wants 😜))Β 

Genre
Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

Intended Audience
Despite the characters being adults, I believe Young Adults and older would enjoy this book. And, of course, if you’re into suspenseful reads and mystery thrillers, then you should definitely give this a go!

Overview (From Barnes & Noble)
When reclusive writer Leonora is invited to the English countryside for a weekend away, she reluctantly agrees to make the trip. But as the first night falls, revelations unfold among friends old and new, an unnerving memory shatters Leonora’s reserve, and a haunting realization creeps in: the party is not alone in the woods.

Setting
English countryside House in the middle of NOWHERE with huge, creepy, see-all glass windows! (My husband and I had VERY different opinions regarding the glass windows πŸ˜‚ He LOVES the idea of being able to see everything OUTSIDE, while I HATE the idea of people being able to see everything INSIDE πŸ˜…)

Characters
Ware brought together an interesting mix of personalities for this weekend getaway and it was fascinating to see how they all cooperated and clashed. Each character was in their mid- to late-twenties and as a fellow mid- to late-twenty…er…twentier?, I gotta say, they made me feel slightly out of sorts, mainly because I feel like they adulted in a way that I (still) do not. (What do you mean I’m not 22 anymore???? 😱) And no, I’m not referring to the shady stuff some of them did.

What I Liked
This was my first Ruth Ware read and I found that I really liked her writing style. She wove the story together piece by piece through Leonora’s narration in a way that had me anxious to get to the bottom of the mystery at hand. There maaaay have been several times where I miiiggghht have “suggested” to my husband that we just keep reading πŸ˜…

The plot itself was great and I read that Reese Witherspoon is adapting this into a movie! Although the article I read hailed from 2015…so….? Given the story and the way everything was slowly revealed, I think it’d make for a perfect cinematic thriller. So my fingers are crossed! (If anyone has any news regarding the book-to-film move, feel free to comment below πŸ‘)

What I Liked A Little Less
I was bummed out by the lack of scare-factor. Maybe I was thrown off by the synopsis and a few featured quotes, but I was expecting an afraid-to-close-my-eyes page turner. Or perhaps a leave-the-lights-on nail-biter. I think I let those expectations get away with me, because while the book was suspenseful, I didn’t find it to be the least bit scary. However! That’s not to say others won’t. Keep in mind that I’m the odd individual who loves watching scary movies with the lights off. Oftentimes by myself. With our cat, Minuit. I may have scared her a few times by gasping out loud and jumping. *ahem* I digress.

The ending! But only because I’m not a fan of open-ended conclusions πŸ˜…

Score
In a Dark, Dark Wood gets 4/5 stars! And I’ll definitely be looking for other Ruth Ware novels 😊

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

