A Court of Thorns and Roses (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_1264I read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas in April for the first time and LOVED it ❀️ Yes, I’m late to the party, but that’s okay! This series had been on my TBR list for forever and when I found out that the last book in the trilogy was being published in early May, I decided it would be the perfect time to finally binge the first two books. And, I gotta say, it worked out splendidly πŸ™Œ Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts!Β 

Genre
YA, Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Romance

Intended Audience
This book most definitely contained some mature content (mainly steamy and explicit sex scenes, but also battle and fight scenes), so I’m classifying this as mature young adult and older. With that being said, the series has won numerous awards in the “Children’s” category, which, given the content, I found a bit odd. Okay, maybe more than a bit πŸ˜… But there you go. You’ve been given a heads up. Also, if you’re a fan of faerie/fae-related stories, then definitely give this a read.

Overview (From book jacket)
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal but Tamlin – one of the lethal, immortal fairies who once ruled their world.

As Feyre dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility to a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin – and his world – forever.

Setting
ACOTAR primarily took place in the Faerie Realm of Prythian. There’s an awesome map at the beginning of the book that depicts the different courts and their territories.

Characters
Maas created Β layered characters and I enjoyed the way their personalities, strengths, and weaknesses were revealed as the story unfolded. More on that below.

What I Liked
I’ll start off with the writing. I loved the descriptions and dialogue and I feel like Maas’ style worked perfectly with the characters and the setting and really brought them all to life. The characters themselves were a big reason I loved this book so much.

There was also so much ACTION! And lots of surprises! This book definitely kept me on my toes and I was barely able to put it down.

What else did I like? Those steamy scenes I mentioned above? Yep, those 😜 You all know I’m a fan of romance and ACOTAR did not disappoint. However, I will say that I found the writing of certain parts of those scenes to be overly dramatic at times; but not a deal breaker by any means.

Lastly, I loved how the story was concluded. Although this is part of a trilogy, the main plot was addressed and we were left with just enough teasers to have us wondering and formulating theories as to what might happen next. (I explained the story thoroughly to my husband and then we traded theories as to what might happen to/with certain characters πŸ˜† Fortunately, I had the second book on standby and was able to jump right in).

What I Liked A Little Less
The beginning was a bit slow, so it took me a little while to really get into the groove of the story. But! Once things started to pick up it maintained a great pace.

Also, try to stay away from fan art if you haven’t read book one yet πŸ˜… Actually, maybe save it until you’re done with Book 2 and then give yourself carte blanche to go crazy with the fan art πŸ‘ That may sound like a no-brainer (and okay, it probably is), but I saw fan art on Instagram long before I read ACOTAR and it definitely tainted my reading experience a bit. With that being said, once you’re ready for the fan art, GO FOR IT! Because. There. Are. Some. SERIOUSLY. AMAZING. Artistic renditions. The truth art is out there.

Score
I’m giving ACOTAR 4.5/5 ✨ I think it’d be a 5 if it weren’t for the slow start. ACOTAR also made me realize how much I love (and missed) reading stories about faeries and fae β˜ΊοΈπŸ’• Now I’m on the hunt for more, so if you’ve got any suggestions, please feel free to share in the comments. My spoiler-free reviews of A Court of Mist and Fury (Book 2) and A Court of Wings and Ruin (Book 3) are coming soon!

 

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

