A Court of Wings and Ruin (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_1266Here it is! Last, but most certainly not least, my spoiler-free review for the third and final book in the ACOTAR series, A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. (Note: This review, specifically the synopsis below, has spoilers from the previous two books, A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. If you haven’t read ACOTAR and ACOMAF yet, I recommend you turn back now and come back once you’ve read them πŸ‘)Β 

Genre
YA, Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Romance

Intended Audience
This book most definitely contains some mature content (battle and fight scenes as well as steamy and explicit sex scenes), so I’m classifying this as mature young adult and older. With that being said, the series has won numerous awards in the “Children’s” category, which, given the content, I found a bit odd. Okay, maybe more than a bit πŸ˜… But there you go. You’ve been given a heads up. Also, if you’re a fan of faerie/fae-related stories, then definitely give this a read.

Overview (From book jacket)
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Setting
ACOWAR took us to some familiar locales seen in previous books and also hinted at some additional locations set throughout the broader ACOTAR universe.

Characters
My fave characters are back! I don’t know if I can or should gush about them any more than I already have in my previous reviews. Just know that we got to find out even more about them in this third installment. We were also introduced to more characters this time around and, like in ACOMAF, I did not find it overwhelming or distracting or detracting in the slightest.

What I Liked
Besides the characters? And the writing style? And the kickass action? And the swoon-worthy romance? Hmmm…

The twists, turns, and epic surprises! ACOWAR included well-planned build-ups and perfectly-timed reveals. (Actually each book so far had those things in spades). I’d consider this to have been epic in every sense of the word.

Also – three cheers for diversity! πŸ™Œ Maas introduced (and I guess specified? – more on that in the next section) more diverse characters in this installment.

And ships! So many ships! Relationships, that is πŸ’• Or…the potential for relationships. I’ve got my favorites, but I won’t say who they are, because spoilers.

And that ending! I won’t lie – this is perfection my kind of ending. Basically everything I look for in the conclusion of a story, duology, trilogy, series, whatever. However! I will say that this particular ending isn’t for everyone. You might even read it and say “D, are you kidding me???” Some of my best friends would (and have) respond(ed) that way to similar endings in other books I’ve gushed over πŸ˜… but oh well! To each his/her own! Read what you love! Just do you! And all that jazz 😝

What I Liked A Little Less
The start of this finale was a bit slow-going for me, mainly because I was raring for certain characters to get back in the game.

I also felt that some characters lost a bit of their bite. Additionally, I would’ve liked to see read perspectives from characters other than Feyre every now and then (as much as I love her) – and I say this mainly because we were teased with a chapter from a certain someone’s point of view, so I thought there would be more of that.

Also, (this doesn’t really belong in this section, but I’m not sure where else to put it so c’est la vie) that diversity I mentioned earlier? While I loved it, I also wondered if Maas had always intended certain instances of said-diversity or if these were edits in response to fan opinion. Same with certain clarifying details of existing characters. Were those details just not clear in the first two books or were they tweaks made later in the game? Which came first, the chicken or the egg? Maybe Maas has mentioned this in interviews (I haven’t had a chance to check yet). Again, either way, I absolutely love the diversity – I’m just curious as to whether or not it was in the master plan from the beginning.

Score
4.5/5 ✨ for ACOWAR! Also! I am BEYOND excited that we’ll get more books and novellas set in the ACOTAR universe! We don’t know what or who they’ll be about, but I’ll take anything at this point, because I am seriously not over this world.

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

