The Coldest Girl in Coldtown (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_1378I read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black (which I bought at BookCon) last month and loved it! This was my second Holly Black read and I’m finding that she is incredibly consistent, while also fantastically unique in her writing, plot, characters, setting, everything! Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts of TCGIC. 

Genre
YA Fiction, Romance, VAMPIRES – chilling and thrilling

Intended Audience
If you’re a fan of vampires, I’d definitely recommend you give this a read.

Overview (From book)
Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. And once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

Setting
Coldtown. And a world where vampires exist and everyone knows it. I seriously LOVE what Black created here. Not that I’d ever want to live there. But! It’s such a novel and refreshing take on the vampire tale and how a world like our own exists with them in it. I hope Black has a lot of settings like these (I’m also referring to the setting in The Darkest Part of the Forest, which I also read last month).

Characters
Oh man – these characters! I went through the full spectrum with the folks in TCGIC. There were some that I absolutely loved and others who I found to be INCREDIBLY frustrating. And, unsurprisingly, Black did an excellent job with each. Tana in particular was my fave and might very well be one of my favorite characters ever.

What I Liked
Besides the setting and universe in general? VAMPIRES! I’m a real sucker for vampires. No pun (oddly enough) intended 😅 The vampires, combined with the setting and overall premise, had me intrigued from the get-go – the set-up and reveal of the plot, aided by alternating character perspectives, were perfect.

What I Liked a Little Less
Just as they did in The Darkest Part of the Forest, the narratives in TCGIC switched back and forth between past and present and I’m, unfortunately, still not a fan. However, like with TDPOTF, I still see the merit in portraying the story this way. So, in case it’s not already obvious, the fact that I’m not sold on this particular practice is just a personal preference issue on my part.

And speaking of personal preference – open-endings! I was so enthralled by the final events that the ending caught me completely by surprise. I was like, “wait- wait, what?!” If you’ve been following my blog and reviews, you know that I’m a closure type of girl. I need it. But, we can’t always get what we want, can we? 😜 Besides, I think I can surmise what happens with these characters in the long-run 👍 (Or at least that’s what I’ll keep telling myself).

Score
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown gets 4.5/5 ✨! The pros far outweigh the “cons” and the “cons” were a result of personal preference anyway, rather than a reflection of the quality of the writing, story, plot, etc. (all of which were awesome). I’ll definitely continue to be on the lookout for more of Holly Black’s books. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to comment below.

 

 

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Coldest Girl in Coldtown (Spoiler-Free)

  1. I’ve had this book on my shelf for years, and I just keep meaning to pick it up! It sounds really cool and I haven’t read a vampire book in a while, so I’ll have to get to it soon. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

