Me & Milo the Great (Spoiler-Free)

IMG_1632A million thank you’s to Michelle Schlicher for sending me a copy of her upcoming novel, Me & Milo the Great. Michelle sent me one of her books last year (Come This Way) and I LOVED it (I even bought a copy for my mom!), so I was obviously over the moon to review another one of her books. And 1) Me & Milo the Great did NOT disappoint! I’m really excited to tell you all about it – spoiler-free, of course! Besides the fact that spoiler-free is my modus operandi, M&MTG doesn’t actually come out until September 14th (so close, yet so far!), but fear not! You can pre-order online 😊 And 2) can we talk about this cover, please??? I love everything about it – the colors, the silhouettes, the font 😍 It’s got a minimalist and creative vibe goin’ on and I just can’t even ❤️ …Alright, someone stop me from staring at this cover – read the review – quick! 

Genre
Fiction, Romance, Drama

Intended Audience
Everyone! The main characters are young adults, but there are several other key characters of varying ages; this is the type of book that transcends any one specific age range. Young adults would enjoy it, as would not-so-young adults.

Overview (From back of book)
My name is Holiday Sanchez. I carry a heavy burden.

But I’m not the only one.

There are others who know what it feels like to remember. Maybe they are the answer. Maybe we can help each other. Maybe I’ll finally get past it.

Maybe it just takes time — and a little bit of magic.

Setting
East Coast, USA. I’m sorry 🙊 I can’t remember the town and I couldn’t find it just now during my (cursory) flip through the book. I do, however, know that it’s near Connecticut! Well, near-ish. That’s right! I managed to find that in my two-minute perusal! How’s that, Ash Hartley? 😉 (You’ll get the reference once you read the book).

Characters
As I said above, the main characters are YAs in their early 20s. The story is told from Holiday’s perspective, so readers are able to fully experience her development as she relays events from her past and present.

What I Liked
For starters – the characters! I loved Holiday and Milo and even the side characters; they all had so much to provide to the story and to each other. M&MTG deals with some pretty heavy stuff, including anxiety and trauma, but also, importantly, healing, hope, and forgiveness. It was definitely a touching read. If you’re a cryer (…cryer? crier? crier. …one who cries!) like me, maybe don’t read this in a public setting. Like the bus.

And the writing! Okay, maybe I should’ve started with the writing. Michelle is an excellent writer and storyteller. I think she perfectly conveyed feelings, personalities, and events as the story progressed. She switched pretty seamlessly between past and present, and if you’ve been following my reviews, you may know that this isn’t a stylistic fave of mine. However! I didn’t mind one bit where this story was concerned. The back and forth didn’t detract from the storyline at all and, on the contrary, did a great job of enhancing the plot and revealing the motivations behind each characters’ actions. I also thought the reveals were perfectly timed. I was intrigued from the get-go. I mean, look at that overview – what is Holiday talking about? What burden is she carrying?? Get past what??? Michelle left just the right amount of bread crumbs to keep me hungry and I could hardly put the book down. I needed to know! And know I did.

What I Liked a Little Less
Hmmm… 🤔 … you know, I don’t think there was really anything I didn’t like.

Score
5/5 ✨ awarded to Me & Milo the Great. It was a beautifully told story of loss and love in various forms and I definitely recommend it. Aaannnd I’ll definitely be buying this for my mom 😅 ❤️

 

About Books Before Bedtime Blogger

Book Lover : Video Gamer : Storyteller : Daydreamer
This entry was posted in Spoiler-Free Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

